The Tabernacle Choir Blog

President Russell M. Nelson with former Choir president Ron Jarrett

Let Us All Press On Includes a Hymn Written by President Russell M. Nelson

The much-anticipated 2019 album Let Us All Press On: Hymns of Praise and Inspiration features 14 powerful hymns beautifully arranged to support and elevate the gospel messages contained in the text. 

Contained in the album is the hymn “Our Prayer to Thee,” with text written by Russell M. Nelson, President of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. Nelson wrote the words in 2003, and it was first performed as a hymn in April of that same year at the Church’s general conference, where it was matched to a tune by composer Joseph Parry.

President Nelson attended the recording session when his hymn was being recorded in the Salt Lake Tabernacle in May 2018. Nelson sat among a sea of quilts and blankets, brought in by Choir members to absorb and dampen some of the echo and reverberation that occurs in the Tabernacle. According to the Choir’s general manager Scott Barrick, "The quilts are like an audience—but with no coughing and talking.” Nelson enjoyed the recording process and took a few moments to speak to the members of the Choir and Orchestra after the recording was complete.

Russell M. Nelson adresses the Choir after they record his hymn, “Our Prayer to Thee.”

The hymns chosen for the album cover a range of gospel themes and modes of expression, from a simple 13th-century poem of gratitude to profound spiritual insights from the 18th and 19th centuries and personal prayers from our own day.

The track list includes:

1. Press Forward, Saints
2. More Holiness Give Me
3. On This Day of Joy and Gladness
4. Lord, I Would Follow Thee
5. Have I Done Any Good?
6. Rejoice, the Lord Is King
7. Our Prayer to Thee
8. Let Us All Press On
9. Guide Us, O Thou Great Jehovah
10. Hark, All Ye Nations
11. Brightly Beams Our Father’s Mercy
12. Standing on the Promises
13. Love Divine, All Loves Excelling
14. All Creatures of Our God and King

Edit text

New Music Video

Watch the music video for “Have I Done Any Good?” which is included on the album.

We are currently experiencing an error with this video. Our team is working to resolve the issue.