"9/11 | Coming Together" 20th Anniversary Special

Der Messias

Messiah Gastsolisten

AMANDA WOODBURY, Sopran

Die Sopranistin Amanda Woodbury, die zum ersten Mal mit dem Tabernacle Choir at Temple Square auftritt, ist eine ehemalige Teilnehmerin des Domingo Colburn Stein Programms für junge Künstler. Sie gewann den zweiten Platz und den Publikumspreis in Plácido Domingos prestigeträchtigem Operalia Wettbewerb und gewann 2014 beim Programm Metropolitan Opera National Council Auditions sowie das Ausschreiben Sarah Tucker Study Grant, außerdem den zweiten Platz und den Publikumspreis beim Wettbewerb Houston Grand Opera’s Eleanor McCollum Competition. Woodbury begann ihre professionelle Laufbahn 2013 an der Los Angeles Opera als Micaëla in Carmen und trat danach als Papagena in Die Zauberflöte und als Musetta in La Bohème auf und sang dann unter der Leitung von James Conlon erstmals bei den Cincinnati May Festspielen das „Mater Gloriosa“ in Mahlers Sinfonie Nr. 8. Woodbury stieg in den Turnus der Metropolitan Opera ein, wo sie die Rolle von Tebaldo in Don Carlo übernahm, und kehrte im letzten Jahr zurück, um Juliette in der neuen Produktion von Roméo et Juliette zu spielen. In diesem Jahr spielte sie Micaëla in Carmen an der Los Angeles Opera, gab ein Rollendebüt als Marguerite in Faust an der Tulsa Opera und übernahm die Titelrolle in Bellinis La Straniera mit der Washington Concert Opera. Demnächst übernimmt sie die Titelrolle von Donizettis Pia de Tolomei beim Spoleto Festspiel in Charleston, Konstanze in Die Entführung aus dem Serail in Madison und Leïla in Les Pêcheurs de Perles an der Metropolitan Opera. Sie trat an der Philharmonie von Los Angeles in Konzertaufführungen von Beethovens Choral Fantasy auf, dirigiert von Gustavo Dudamel, ebenso in Carmina Burana an der Philharmonie von Lexington und, gemeinsam mit dem Alabama Symphony Orchestra, im Fauré Requiem.

Fay Fox

TAMARA MUMFORD, Mezzosopran

Die Mezzosopranistin Tamara Mumford trat 2014 mit dem Tabernacle Choir at Temple Square bei der Aufführung des Messiah auf und 2015 bei den Weihnachtskonzerten mit ausgewählten Stücken aus ebendiesem Werk. Dieses Jahr kehrt sie an die Metropolitan Opera in einer Produktion Die Zauberflöte zurück, sie hat ein Konzert mit der Gesellschaft für Kammermusik des Lincoln Centers, mit dem National Symphony Orchestra und der Philharmonie Netherlands Radio und tritt mit Gustavo Dudamel und der Philharmonie von Los Angeles in zwei besonderen Projekten auf: Mahlers Das Lied von der Erde und Schumanns Paradies un die Peri. Mumford machte einen Abschluss im Förderprogramm „Metropolitan Opera’s Lindemann Young Artist Development Program“ und begann ihre Karriere als Laura in Luisa Miller. Seitdem trat sie mit dem Unternehmen in mehr als 140 Aufführungen auf, unter anderem an der Metropolitan Opera mit der Serienübertragung „Met: Live in HD“. Als aktive Konzertdarstellerin trat Mumford mit Gustavo Dudamel und der Philharmonie von Los Angeles auf Tourneen in den USA und in Europa bei Aufführungen von Mahlers Sinfonie Nr. 3 und der Weltpremiere von John Adams Oratorium The Gospel According to the Other Mary auf. Sie trat 2005 zum ersten Mal in der Carnegie Hall auf und war dort mit James Levine und dem Metropolitan Chamber Orchestra zu sehen. Sie wurde in Aufführungen der Frick Collection in New York, der Marilyn Horne Foundation, dem Metropolitan Museum of Art und der Philadelphia Chamber Music Society präsentiert. Mumford ist auf Aufnahmen mit Michael Tilson Thomas und der San Francisco Symphony, mit Gustavo Dudamel und der Philharmonie von Los Angeles sowie mit dem Tabernacle Choir at Temple Square in Händels Messiah zu hören.

Lindsey Nelson

TYLER NELSON, Tenor

Tyler Nelson ist einer der vielversprechendsten jungen Tenöre Amerikas. Seine letzten Auftritte waren an der Utah Opera in L’enfant et les sortileges, an der Opera Naples als Alfred in Die Fledermaus, an der Opera Omaha als Trin in La fanciulla del West, an der Ireland’s Wide Open Opera als Almaviva in Il barbiere di Siviglia und bei den internationalen Musikfestspielen von Belle-Île en Mer als Ferrando in Così fan tutte. Im Ausland trat er zum ersten Mal in Mazatlan in Mexiko auf, wo er unter der Leitung des Komponisten die Rolle von Shallow in Gordon Gettys Plump Jack spielte. Er erhielt für seine Komödienrolle am Chicago Opera Theater ausnehmend gute Kritiken. In den Jahren 2017 und 2018 spielte Nelson Don Ottavio in Don Giovanni an der Opera on the James und Almaviva in Il barbiere di Siviglia an der Opera Tampa. Als häufiger Darsteller beim Festspiel Maestro Lorin Maazel’s Castleton trat er in der Rolle als Almaviva in Il barbiere di Siviglia auf und außerdem mit dem National Center for the Performing Arts in Peking. Auch trat Nelson als Solist auf den Bühnen im Kennedy Center und in der Carnegie Hall auf. In Konzerten trat er in Händels Messiah am Augustana College auf, in Beethovens Messe in C- Dur und Mozarts Vesperae solennes de confessore bei den internationalen Musikfestspielen von Belle-Île en Mer, Benjamin Brittens Serenade an der Sinfonie von Utah Valley, Beethovens Sinfonie Nr. 9 an der Sinfonie von Saginaw Bay, Mozarts Requiem mit dem Temple Square Chorale und dem Orchestra at Temple Square, außerdem in Carl Orffs Carmina Burana mit den Sinfonieorchestern von Kalifornien und Reno.

Matthew Fried

TYLER SIMPSON, Bariton

Der Bariton Tyler Simpson trat bei den Weihnachtskonzerten 2015 als Gastsolist mit dem Tabernacle Choir at Temple Square auf und war danach in besonderen Übertragungen ausgewählter Stücke aus Händels Messiah zu sehen. Im gleichen Jahr beging er seine sechste Saison in Folge an der Metropolitan Opera, wo Simpson an 18 Produktionen mitgearbeitet und 2010/11 sein Debüt in Verdis Don Carlo gegeben hat. In seiner Laufbahn hat er Gesangsrollen in den Werken Le Comte Ory, Tosca, The Enchanted Island und Macbeth übernommen und bei Aufführungen von Don Carlo, La traviata, Simon Boccanegra, Anna Bolena, Die Frau ohne Schatten, Lulu und Billy Budd mitgewirkt. Erst vor kurzem hatte Simpson sein Debüt an der Pittsburgh Opera als Figaro in Le nozze di Figaro, kehrte dann an die Atlanta Opera zurück, wo er mit Stephanie Blythe La fille du Regiment sang und die Rolle von Patsy McCall in Evan Macks Roscoe an der Sinfonie von Albany sang. Dann war er an der North Carolina Opera als Figaro in Le nozze di Figaro und begann am Teatro Massimo di Palermo. Höhepunkte in seiner Karriere waren Basilio in Il barbiere di Siviglia mit der Fort Worth Opera, Don Alfonso in Così fan tutte bei den internationalen Musikfestspielen von Belle-Île en Mer, Beethovens Messe in C- Dur und Mozarts Vesperae solennes de confessore. Davor hatte er Auftritte mit der Lyric Opera of Kansas City, der Dallas Opera, der Florida Grand Opera, dem Sinfonieorchester von Detroit, beim Castleton Musikfestspiel für die Stücke L’heure espagnol und Roméo et Juliette und kehrte zu den internationalen Musikfestspielen von Belle-Île en Mer zurück, um Uberto in La serva padrona und Jesus in Bachs Johannes Passion zu singen.

"9/11 | Coming Together" 20th Anniversary Special

Handel's Messiah

Messiah Guest Soloists

The majesty of Handel’s Messiah is found in the artistry of the Choir, the Orchestra, and the soloists. The Choir and Orchestra were honored to be joined by these four world-class soloists in April 2018.  That concert was restreamed in 2020 and again in 2021, continuing a tradition of Messiah performances by the Choir that stretches back to 1875. Get to know guest artists Amanda Woodbury, Tamara Mumford, Tyler Nelson, and Tyler Simpson through their biographies below.

AMANDA WOODBURY, Soprano

Soprano Amanda Woodbury, making her debut appearance with The Tabernacle Choir at Temple Square, is an alumna of the Domingo-Colburn- Stein Young Artist Program. She earned second-place and audience choice awards in Plácido Domingo’s prestigious Operalia competition and won the 2014 Metropolitan Opera National Council Auditions, the 2014 Sarah Tucker Study Grant, and second place and audience choice awards at Houston Grand Opera’s Eleanor McCollum Competition. Ms. Woodbury made her professional debut with the Los Angeles Opera in 2013 as Micaëla in Carmen, with subsequent appearances as Papagena in Die Zauberflöte and Musetta in La Bohème, then her Cincinnati May Festival debut singing the “Mater Gloriosa” in Mahler’s Symphony no. 8 under James Conlon. Joining the roster of the Metropolitan Opera, Ms. Woodbury performed the role of Tebaldo in Don Carlo and returned last season to perform Juliette in the new production of Roméo et Juliette. This season she has performed Micaëla in Carmen with the Los Angeles Opera, a role debut of Marguerite in Faust with Tulsa Opera, and the title role in Bellini’s La Straniera with the Washington Concert Opera. Upcoming is the title role of Donizetti’s Pia de Tolomei at the Spoleto Festival in Charleston, Konstanze in Die Entführung aus dem Serail in Madison, and Leïla in Les Pêcheurs de Perles at the Metropolitan Opera. She has appeared in concert performances of Beethoven’s Choral Fantasy with the Los Angeles Philharmonic, conducted by Gustavo Dudamel, Carmina Burana with the Lexington Philharmonic, and the Fauré Requiem with the Alabama Symphony.

Fay Fox

TAMARA MUMFORD, Mezzo-soprano

Mezzo-soprano Tamara Mumford appeared with The Tabernacle Choir at Temple Square in the 2014 performance of Messiah and the 2015 Christmas concerts featuring selections from the work. This season, she returns to the Metropolitan Opera for Die Zauberflöte, performs in concert with the Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center, the National Symphony Orchestra, and the Netherlands Radio Philharmonic, and appears in two special projects with Gustavo Dudamel and the Los Angeles Philharmonic in Mahler’s Das Lied von der Erde, and Schumann’s Paradies un die Peri. A graduate of the Metropolitan Opera’s Lindemann Young Artist Development Program, Ms. Mumford made her debut as Laura in Luisa Miller, and has since appeared in more than 140 performances with the company, including the Metropolitan Opera’s Met: Live in HD series broadcasts. An active concert performer and recitalist, Ms. Mumford appeared with Gustavo Dudamel and the Los Angeles Philharmonic in U.S. and European tours in performances of Mahler’s Symphony no. 3 and the world premiere of John Adam’s oratorio, The Gospel According to the Other Mary. She made her Carnegie Hall debut in 2005 and has since appeared there with James Levine and the Metropolitan Chamber Orchestra. She has been presented in recital by the Frick Collection in New York, the Marilyn Horne Foundation, the Metropolitan Museum of Art, and the Philadelphia Chamber Music Society. She has recorded with Michael Tilson Thomas and the San Francisco Symphony, Gustavo Dudamel and the Los Angeles Philharmonic, and on The Tabernacle Choir’s recording of Handel’s Messiah.

Lindsey Nelson

TYLER NELSON, Tenor

Tyler Nelson is one of America’s most promising young tenors. His recent engagements include debuts with Utah Opera in L’enfant et les sortileges, Opera Naples as Alfred in Die Fledermaus, Opera Omaha as Trin in La fanciulla del West, Ireland’s Wide Open Opera as Almaviva in Il barbiere di Siviglia, and Le Festival Lyrique International de Belle-Île en Mer as Ferrando in Così fan tutte. He made his international debut in Mazatlan, Mexico, performing the role of Shallow in Gordon Getty’s Plump Jack, under the direction of the composer, and has won rave reviews for his comic roles with Chicago Opera Theater. The 2017-2018 season includes Don Ottavio in Don Giovanni with Opera on the James and Almaviva in Il barbiere di Siviglia with Opera Tampa. A frequent performer with Maestro Lorin Maazel’s Castleton Festival, he appeared in the role of Almaviva in Il barbiere di Siviglia at the Festival and with the National Center for the Performing Arts in Beijing, China. Mr. Nelson has appeared as a soloist on the stages of the Kennedy Center and at Carnegie Hall. His concert performances include Handel’s Messiah with Augustana College, Beethoven’s Mass in C and Mozart’s Vesperae solennes de confessore with Le Festival Lyrique International de Belle-Île en Mer, Benjamin Britten’s Serenade with the Utah Valley Symphony, Beethoven’s Symphony no. 9 with the Saginaw Bay Symphony, Mozart’s Requiem with the Temple Square Chorale and Orchestra at Temple Square, and Carl Orff’s Carmina Burana with the California and Reno Symphonies.

Matthew Fried

TYLER SIMPSON, Bass-baritone

Bass-baritone Tyler Simpson appeared with The Tabernacle Choir at Temple Square as a guest soloist in the 2015 Christmas concerts and subsequent PBS Special performing selections from Handel’s Messiah. That same year marked his sixth consecutive season at the Metropolitan Opera, where he has worked on 18 productions, having made his debut in Verdi’s Don Carlo in the 2010-2011 season. During his tenure, he has sung roles in Le Comte Ory, Tosca, The Enchanted Island, and Macbeth and covered roles in Don Carlo, La traviata, Simon Boccanegra, Anna Bolena, Die Frau ohne Schatten, Lulu, and Billy Budd. Most recently, Mr. Simpson made his Pittsburgh Opera debut as Figaro in Le nozze di Figaro, returned to Atlanta Opera for La fille du Regiment opposite Stephanie Blythe, sang the role of Patsy McCall in Evan Mack’s Roscoe with the Albany Symphony, appeared with North Carolina Opera as Figaro in Le nozze di Figaro, and made his debut with the Teatro Massimo di Palermo. Career highlights include Basilio in Il barbiere di Siviglia with Fort Worth Opera, Don Alfonso in Così fan tutte with Le Festival Lyrique International de Belle-Île en Mer, Beethoven’s Mass in C and Mozart’s Vesperae solennes de confessore. Previous engagements include performances with Lyric Opera of Kansas City, Dallas Opera, Florida Grand Opera, Detroit Symphony, Castleton Music Festival for L’heure espagnol and Roméo et Juliette, and a return to Le Festival Lyrique International de Belle-Île en Mer to sing Uberto in La serva padrona and Jesus in Bach’s Johannes-Passion.