Brahms: A German Requiem (1999)

The Mormon Tabernacle Choir is joined by the Utah Symphony and soloists Janice Chandler (soprano) and Nathan Gunn (baritone) with Craig Jessop conducting. This new English adaption of Johannes Brahms' transcendent work was authored by Robert Shaw.

  • Language English
  • Media Types MP3; Digital Download

"Buy Now" links are provided for your convenience and may take you to a website not maintained by The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints with its own terms of use, privacy and security. We don't endorse or guarantee the content, products or services offered.

  1. TracksTrack TitleTrack Time
  2. 01 Blest Are They That Mourn 10:30
  3. 02 Behold, All Flesh Is As The Grass 14:27
  4. 03 Lord, Make Me To Know 9:11
  5. 04 How Lovely Is Thy Dwelling Place 5:52
  6. 05 Ye Now Are Sorrowful 6:39
  7. 06 Here On Earth Have We No Continuing Place 11:16
  8. 07 Blessed Are The Dead 10:30


Robert Shaw died on January 25, 1999, less than three weeks before he was to have performed and recorded his new English adaptation of the Brahms with the Mormon Tabernacle Choir and Utah Symphony. It was a difficult time for the Choir because they had grown close to Mr. Shaw and were looking forward to the performance and recording with great anticipation. How serendipitous, then, that both the music and carefully-chosen scriptural text of Brahms' Requiem were composed for the express purpose of comforting the living in the face of death. This recording provided healing balm for both performer and listener.